BBC’s Sound of 2012 longlist announced

Over 180 influential UK tastemakers named their favourite new acts and the list was compiled from their votes. The top five artists will be revealed each day throughout the first week of the New Year with the Sound of 2012 winner announced on Friday 6 January.

[pullquote_right]Jessie J topped last year’s list, which is now entering its tenth year. Her album ‘Who You Are’ went on to be the biggest selling debut album of 2011 in the UK. Previous winners include Ellie Goulding, Little Boots, Adele, Mika and 50 Cent.[/pullquote_right]

The emerging new artists on this year’s longlist range from UK hip hop and grime producer and MC, Dot Rotten to bluesy singer-songwriter Jamie N Commons and raunchy, irreverent female pop trio Stooshe.  20-year-old rapper and singer Azealia Banks and rapper, A$AP Rocky, both from Harlem, are competing for a place in the top five alongside dubstep producers Flux Pavilion and Skrillex.

Three British soul acts have made it onto the longlist: Michael Kiwanuka and Lianne La Havas, from London and Ren Harvieu, who hails from Salford. UK guitar bands Spector and Dry The River are also named on the list alongside Brooklyn-based indie-pop band Friends and Swedish dance duo Niki & The Dove.  US singer-songwriter and rapper, Frank Ocean also makes the top fifteen.

The Sound of 2012 final longlist in alphabetical order:

  • A$AP Rocky
  • Azealia Banks
  • Dot Rotten
  • Dry The River
  • Flux Pavilion
  • Frank Ocean
  • Friends
  • Jamie N Commons
  • Lianne La Havas
  • Michael Kiwanuka
  • Niki & The Dove
  • Ren Harvieu
  • Skrillex
  • Spector
  • Stooshe

George Ergatoudis, Head of Music, BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra, said: “The Sound of 2012 will be the tenth year of predictions compiled by BBC News: a project now established as the definitive annual list of exciting new artists to watch out for. The sheer volume of taste makers who contribute gives it a gravitas that other crystal ball gazers can only envy.

“The list will inspire debate for sure, but most importantly, it will lead to discovery and for artists and musicians trying to stand out from the ever-expanding crowd, that can only be a good thing.”

One pundit, Holly Frith, Editor, said: “The ‘BBC Sound of’ list is always a great indication for music fans and the industry to see what will be filling the airwaves and charts in the coming year. The 2011 list included the likes of Jessie J, The Vaccines and James Blake who have taken this year by storm as have most of last year’s nominees. “The 2012 longlist seems to have left the winning place much more open to competition. With Skrillex and Flux Pavillion both making the list, 2012 is set to be influenced with a heavier sound. Along with Azealia Banks and A$AP Rocky it’s a tough call to pick amongst this year’s contenders.”

Zane Lowe will have the exclusive radio announcement of the final five, counting down to the winner each morning on BBC Radio 1 from Monday 2nd January. Sound of 2012 announcements will be made simultaneously on the BBC News website and the BBC Sound of 2012 website

Twitter users can tweet about the announcement using the hashtag #so2012


Senior Editor at King Loaf and Assistant Editor at - lover of all things music and contraversial

  • Ffi Davies

    Stooshe for the win!