Egyptian Hip Hop – ‘SYH’ Video and Tour Dates

Egyptian Hip Hop recently announced their debut album ‘Good Dont Sleep’ to be released on R&S Records on October 22nd along with the first taster of the album’s offerings with track ‘SYH’ of which we now have the video available below. The Manchester 4-piece are heading out on the road for a short run of shows in October.

Egyptian Hip Hop UK Shows

06/10 – Hug and Pint – Glasgow
09/10 – Soup Kitchen – Manchester
11/10 – Corsica Studios – London

Egyptian Hip Hop first emerged back in 2009 as four sparky 17-year-olds from Manchester with an uncanny knack for lush, scruffy melodies and raucous tales of guitar lessons from Johnny Marr. Their debut EP ‘Some Reptiles Grew Wings’, produced by Warp’s Hudson Mohawke, featured a clutch of delectably angular pop songs and affirmed their singular sense of rhythm.

Following an extended hiatus, during which lead singer Alexander Hewett spent time as a touring musician for Connan Mockasin and Charlotte Gainsbourg, Egyptian Hip Hop return triumphant with their debut album on R&S Records. ‘Good Dont Sleep’ is a promise kept and worth every shred of wondering. The self-conscious naivety of their early recordings has dissipated, making way for a mature musicality that is invigoratingly sensual. Dancing with summer pollen and possibility, ‘Yorro Diallo’ and ‘SYH’ hum with the polyrhythmic intensity of ‘Remain In Light’-era Talking Heads. Spiraling sideways like a honey-drunk bumblebee, ‘Pearl Sound’ and ‘One Eyed King’ take a detour into the eeriness of Silver Apples. On another plane, ‘The White Falls’ traces a dream from its delicate distant stirring to full crystalline crescendo. The album’s crowning glory, however, is closer ‘lltoise’, a gossamer-spun composition that scales Tangerine Dream heights and evokes the sheer joy of waiting to fall.

‘Good Dont Sleep’ – Tracklisting

1. Tobago
2. The White Falls
3. Alalon
4. Yorro Diallo
5. Strange Vale
6. Snake Lane West
7. Pearl Sound
8. SYH
9. One Eyed King
10. Iltoise