Film4-backed films get 35 British Independent Film Award nominations

Film4-backed films have received a record total of 35 nominations at this year’s British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs), including three in both the Best British Independent Film and Best Director categories.

David Mackenzie’s Starred Up, Clio Barnard’s The Selfish Giant, Roger Michell’s Le Week-End, Jonathan Glazer’s Under the Skin, Richard Ayoade’s The Double, Jeremy Lovering’s In Fear, Ben Wheatley’s A Field in England, Kevin Macdonald’s How I Live Now, Michael Winterbottom’s The Look of Love, Paul Wright’s For Those in Peril, Shane Meadows’ The Stone Roses: Made of Stone and Ken Loach’s The Spirit of ’45, alongside two short films, Shynola’s Dr Easy and Kibwe Tavares’ Jonah have all received nominations at the annual awards which celebrate achievement in independently-funded British filmmaking. (See full details on nominations below).

Tessa Ross, Controller of Film and Drama at Channel 4, says: “The BIFAs are a fantastic celebration of the rich and diverse talent our home-grown industry has to offer. We’re thrilled for all the filmmakers that their work has been recognised in what has been an incredibly buoyant year for British independent film – long may it continue, and we wish everyone the best of luck on the night!”

The BIFAs are being held on 8th December 2013 in central London.

Film4 nominations in bold

Best British Independent Film (Sponsored by Moët & Chandon)
Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up 
Le Week-end

Best Director (Sponsored by AllCity & Intermission)
Jon S Baird – Filth
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Sean Ellis – Metro Manila
Jonathan Glazer – Under the Skin
David Mackenzie – Starred Up

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director) (Sponsored by 3 Mills Studios) 
Charlie Cattrall – Titus
Tina Gharavi – I Am Nasrine
Jeremy Lovering – In Fear
Omid Nooshin – Last Passenger
Paul Wright – For Those in Peril

Best Screenplay
Jonathan Asser – Starred Up
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant

Steven Knight – Locke
Hanif Kureishi – Le Week-end
Jeff Pope, Steve Coogan – Philomena

Best Actress (Sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics)
Judi Dench – Philomena
Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-end
Scarlett Johansson – Under the Skin

Felicity Jones – The Invisible Woman
Saoirse Ronan – How I Live Now

Best Actor (Sponsored by BBC Films)
Jim Broadbent – Le Week-end
Steve Coogan – Philomena
Tom Hardy – Locke
Jack O’Connell – Starred Up
James McAvoy – Filth

Best Supporting Actress
Siobhan Finneran – The Selfish Giant
Shirley Henderson – Filth
Imogen Poots – The Look of Love
Kristin Scott Thomas – The Invisible Woman
Mia Wasikowska – The Double

Best Supporting Actor (Sponsored by Sanderson & St Martins Lane)
John Arcilla – Metro Manila
Rupert Friend – Starred Up
Jeff Goldblum – Le Week-end

Eddie Marsan – Filth
Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up

Most Promising Newcomer (Sponsored by Studiocanal)
Harley Bird – How I Live Now
Conner Chapman / Shaun Thomas – The Selfish Giant
Caity Lotz – The Machine
Jake Macapagal – Metro Manila
Chloe Pirrie – Shell

Best Achievement in Production (Sponsored by Company3)
A Field in England
Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up

Best Technical Achievement (Sponsored by LightBrigade Media)

Shaheen Baig – Casting – Starred Up
Johnnie Burn – Sound Design – Under the Skin
Amy Hubbard – Casting – The Selfish Giant
Mica Levi – Music – Under the Skin

Justine Wright – Editing – Locke

Best Documentary
Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer
The Great Hip Hop Hoax
The Moo Man
The Spirit of ‘45
The Stone Roses: Made of Stone

Best British Short (Supported by BFI NET.WORK)
Dr Easy
Dylan’s Room

Best International Independent Film
Blue Is the Warmest Colour
Blue Jasmine
Frances Ha
The Great Beauty

The Raindance Award (Sponsored by Wentworth Media and Arts)
Everyone’s Going to Die
The Machine
The Patrol
Sleeping Dogs

The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film) 
To be announced

The Variety Award
To be announced

The Special Jury Prize
Announced at the Moet British Independent Film Awards on Sunday 8 December