Music Hitting Your Shelves This Week: June 11th 2012

The bank holiday madness is over from last week, now we’re back into a full week, and some great releases.

In the singles camp we have the come-back for Maximo Park with their single and album with the same name ‘Hips And Lips.’ Might wanna check out the video for this single as it features their “number one fan” Thomas Turgoose. You may or may not recognize the name but his outstanding performance in 2006’s cult film This Is England is definitely recognizable.

Simian Mobile Disco have slowly been creeping back into the system with some tidy releases from their third album Unpatterns. This week their single ‘Put Your Hands Together‘ hits the shops and is one to definitely check out.
Graham Coxon, Emeli Sande, Stooshe and Chew Lips all rock the singles club this week too.

Hot Chip release their highly anticipated album In Our Heads this week – it’s going to be an interesting outlook for this record and is interesting to see how well they will do with it. We had a mixed view of it and it received a 70% score. You can check out the review here.

Worth noting is Motion City Soundtrack‘s new album Go and Future Of The Left‘s The Plot Against Common Sense.

All the singles, albums and EPs are listed below. Enjoy.

Singles released this week:

AlunaGeorge – ‘You Know You Like It’
Aviici – ‘Silhouettes’
Azealia Banks – ‘1991 EP’
Chew Lips – ‘Do You Chew’
Cheryl – ‘Call My Name’
Emeli Sande – ‘My Kind Of Love’
Graham Coxon – ‘Ooh Yeh Yeh’
Jake Bugg – ‘Lightning Bolt’
Jamie Cullum – ‘Everything You Didn’t Do’
Jay-Z and Kanye West feat. Frank Ocean – ‘No Church In The Wild’
Maximo Park – ‘Hips And Lips’
Sam Sparro – ‘Wish I Never Met You’
Simian Mobile Disco – ‘Put Your Hands Up’
Smiler feat. Professor Green and Taiwah – ‘Top Of The World’
Stooshe – ‘Black Heart’
Trey Songz – ‘Heart Attack’
Caan – Into the Night
FLIGHTS – Eleven
Hrdvsion & Midnight Operator – Prettier Than That / Dangerous Behaviour

EPs released this week:

Akasha FX – Mr. Beast
Tiesto & Wolfgang Gartner – ‘We Own The Night EP’
Lee Mitchell – Water

Albums released this week:

A Place To Bury Strangers – ‘Worship’
Alan Jackson – ‘Thirty Miles West’
Amy MacDonald – ‘Life In A Beautiful Light’
Bobby Womack – ‘The Bravest Man In The Universe’
Boxes – ‘Stickers’
Candlemass – ‘Psalms For The Dead’
Deus – ‘Following Sea’
Future Of The Left – ‘The Plot Against Common Sense’
Giant Giant Sand – ‘Tucson’
Hot Chip – ‘In Our Heads’
Joe Walsh – ‘Analogue Man’
Maximo Park – ‘The National Health’
Miss May I – ‘At Heart’
Motion City Soundtrack – ‘Go’
Spaceghostpurrp – ‘The Chronicles Of Spaceghostpurrp’
Sugar – ‘F.U.E.L’
The Hundreds In The Hands – ‘Red Night’
The Tallest Man On Earth – ‘There’s No Leaving Now’
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – ‘Trouble’
Two Wounded Birds – ‘Two Wounded Birds’
Usher – ‘Looking 4 Myself’
Anna Ternheim – The Night Visitor
Peaking Lights – Lucifer
BOXES – Stickers
Willie DE – Egg Cracked, The Bird Went Wild
Bear Driver – Bear Driver
Forss – Ecclesia
Late Night Tales Presents: Music For Pleasure by Tom Findlay from Groove Armada
GESPENST – The Bloodline
REMORA – The Heart That Kills
Skinny Lister – Forge & Flagon