Watch: Frightened Rabbit – Boxing Night [Acoustic Demo]

As you know, Frightened Rabbit are preparing to release a new EP, ‘State Hospital’, on 24th September. It includes 5 new tracks and these tracks won’t be on their upcoming fourth album (which is due early 2013). 

And now, for the first time, you can see/hear one of the tracks in one of its earlier forms. Please find above an early acoustic demo of Boxing Night:

Frightened Rabbit are pleased to announce details of their eagerly awaited new EP ‘State Hospital’, out September 24 through Atlantic Records. The acclaimed Scottish quintet will celebrate the EP’s release with a UK and Ireland tour throughout September. The dates will kick off in Portrush’s Playhouse on September 6, taking in Navan, Michelstown, Dundalk, Dublin, Cork, Galway, Belfast, London, Manchester and Dumfries, concluding with a homecoming show at Selkirk’s Victoria Hall on September 25. Furthermore, the band are confirmed to support Biffy Clyro at the iTunes festival on September 22, which will take place at London’s Roundhouse.

Commenting on the new EP, singer Scott says: 

“With the exception of ‘State Hospital’, this is a collection of songs that for one reason or another did not fit on the full-length record, either thematically or tonally. They’re still four of our favourites, and they definitely represent the directions we’ve been pushing ourselves into with new material. We were inspired by fairly dissonant artists during the writing and recording of these songs, from Beak> to The Shins via Max Richter and Caribou. I think we’ve definitely darkened our corners a little with this EP.”


Watch the video for ‘State Hospital’ on the FRabbit YouTube channel. The EP will also include a track featuring Arab Strap’s Aidan Moffat. Full tracklisting below.


Frightened Rabbit are currently completing work on their Atlantic debut album, set for release in early 2013. The upcoming LP was recorded at the famed Monnow Valley Studio in Rockfield, South Wales, with producer Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, David Byrne, Grace Jones) behind the board.

Earlier this year, the Glasgow-based band took a break from the sessions to fulfil a lifelong dream of performing in their home country’s historic Highlands. An accompanying short film was created, capturing life on the road.

The band’s most recent album, 2010’s The Winter Of Mixed Drinks (FatCat Records), was well received across both sides of the Atlantic, with The Guardian declaring that “(Scott Hutchison’s) songwriting is sharp throughout and most of their songs – with themes of escape, freedom and reinvention – have huge impassioned choruses that are made to be shouted from the nearest available mountain…This is the sound of a band upping their game.” 


  • Sept 6th – Portrush, Playhouse
  • Sept 7th – Navan, Swan Lane
  • Sept 8th – Michelstown, An Bodhran
  • Sept 9th – Dundalk, Spirit Store
  • Sept 12th – Cork, Cyprus Avenue
  • Sept 13th – Galway, Rosini Dubh
  • Sept 14th – Dublin, Academy
  • Sept 15th – Belfast, Empire


  • Sept 18th – London, 93 Feet East
  • Sept 19th – Manchester, Deaf Institute
  • Sept 24th – Dumfries, The Venue
  • Sept 25th – Selkirk, Victoria Hall

‘State Hospital’ EP tracklisting

  1. State Hospital
  2. Boxing Night
  3. Home From War
  4. Off
  5. Wedding Gloves (feat. Aidan Moffat)

Frightened Rabbit are – Scott Hutchison (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Billy Kennedy (bass), Andy Monaghan (guitar/keys), Grant Hutchison (drums) and Gordon Skene (guitar/keys).



Chris "MUG5" Maguire is a multimedia futurist that specializes in all things multimedia. From Record Production to Film Making Chris has worked with hi-end clients the world over. Chris is the Editor in Chief of both &